top of page
  • Luke Johnston

St Benedicts Girls Crowned County Champions

St Benedict’s under 13’s Girls’ Football team have this week been crowned County Champions, following a great win against Dowdales School from Dalton-in-Furness. The County Cup Finals were played at Carlisle’s Sheepmount, following earlier postponements due to weather. St Benedict’s had previously beaten Dallam School in the semi-finals back in January, and have been eager to play their final ever since!

St Benedict's started the game on the front foot pushing forward and creating numerous scoring opportunities but the Dowdales keeper was up to the challenge. 

St Benedict's were patient in their play and passed the ball around well in midfield between Leanna Giles and Sophie Douglas. The pressure soon paid off when Laya McKendrey scored a fabulous long range shot. Dowdales then started to put pressure on the St Benedict's defence and managed to scramble home a goal, leaving the score 1-1 at half time. 

St Benedict's had a game plan at half time to pressure for the early goal and this all came good when Emi Rudd shot dipped over the keeper. St Benedict's then dominated the game with Leanna Giles creating lots of attacking opportunities. Emi Rudd scored her second goal when she bravely challenged for the ball and nicked in before the Dowdales’ defence, finishing the game 3-1 winners.

Lisa Powe, PE Teacher at St Benedict’s commented: “The St Benedict's team were very worthy winners with a great team performance. I am very proud of the team, and look forward to seeing what they achieve in the future.” This win tops off an impressive season for the girls, who also had an impressive run in the ESFA National Cup earlier in the year.

Team: Leanna Giles (Captain), Rhianna Scott, Calla Grieves-Mattinson, Holly Laing, Keira Morgan, Charlie Gibbons, Kacie Gillespie, Sophie Douglas, Emi Rudd, Grace Houghton, Laya McKendrey, Jessica Kitchen The Under 13’s Boys Team have also had a fantastic season, also making it to the County Finals. Unfortunately they were beaten by Nelson Thomlinson School, 3-2 after extra time. 

98 views0 comments
bottom of page